Day 7: 1,760 words, breaking the 10k mark

Nov 7 - 10,428 Words

Nov 7 – 10,428 Words

First of all, I want to thank everyone who has been reading this blog. I am up to twenty likes, which is amazing since I’ve not done much to advertise this. I plan on making time to check all of your blogs as well, though you can forgive me if I’m a little distracted, right? 🙂

Today I did 1,760 words in just over an hour. I didn’t even know I could write that fast, but I realized it wasn’t really writing that I was doing. I was simply transcribing a story from one media to another tonight as the characters played on in my mind. Why did I stop if I was on such a good roll? The story stopped, for now. My day job has me driving and spending a lot of time thinking, so tomorrow I plan on using that time to consider where to take things now. I still have the general arc in my mind, and I can always short-cut my way past this part of the story and jump right into the fast-paced climax and ending, but I’d rather not.

I’m still 1,241 words behind from my weekend of not writing, but that isn’t eroding at my enthusiasm, not when I realize that I am now at 10,428 words. That’s right! I’ve officially finished a fifth of NaNoWriMo! I also find myself telling everyone about what I’m doing, with the feedback being generally mixed. Most give support and think that what I’m doing is awesome. They wish me luck and leave it at that. Others seem to not care, which is fine too. I still care, which is all that really matters, right?

I don’t know if I mentioned this earlier, but I did make up my mind about sharing what I’ve written so far. I’ve decided to not share it as the nature of NaNoWriMo isn’t perfection and I really want to be able to review everything at the end and edit it appropriately. Releasing it now would ruin the story, since some bits are incomplete and others are out of order. I will say that I don’t plan on giving up, not after coming this far. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

